Computational Science NL is proud to announce its new Strategy Board taking service as of March 1st, 2024. The Strategy Board members cover a blend of backgrounds spanning academia and industry, with expertise across various disciplines.

🔸 Alfons Hoekstra is Professor of Computational Science and Engineering at the University of Amsterdam. He is also a member of the Computational Science Lab. His research focusses on digital twins in healthcare, multiscale modeling of complex systems, and high-performance computing. Hoekstra is editor of the Journal of Computational Science.

🔸 Johan Mentink, is Assistant Professor of Physics at Radboud University, where he does theoretical and computational research to push the limits for the control of magnetism at the shortest length and time scales. He is recipient of the NWO Rubicon, VENI and VIDI grants. In 2021 he initiated research on exploring the potential of neuromorphic hardware for computational science use cases with SURF and researchers from Radboud University, University of Twente, and IBM.

🔸 Bianca Giovanardi is Assistant Professor of Computational Mechanics in the Department of Aerospace Structures and Materials at TU Delft. Her expertise lies in high-performance computational modeling of multi-physics coupled problems across diverse domains, including geophysics, biomechanics, aerospace, forensics, and defense. Prior to joining TU Delft in 2020, she served as a postdoctoral associate in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at MIT, where she applied high-performance computing to nonlinear solid mechanics, fracture mechanics, and fluid-structure interaction. She earned her PhD in Computational Mathematics from the Politecnico di Milano in 2017.

🔸 Wil Schilders is Professor and Chair of Scientific Computing in the Industry at TU Eindhoven. Wil’s key areas of expertise include computer systems, architectures, networks, numerical analysis, model order reduction, scientific computing and computational science. He has worked in industry for over 30 years and his emphasis has always been on the development of novel mathematical methods for a large variety of industrial challenges. This is also reflected in his current work, with many national and international industrial contacts, and his presidency of ECMI (2010-2011) and EU-MATHS-IN (from 2016). Wil has a Master’s degree in Mathematics, with Physics and Astronomy, from the Radboud University in Nijmegen and a PhD in Numerical Methods from Trinity College Dublin, Ireland.

🔸 Mark Roest is general manager at VORtech, a company providing scientific software engineering services. He studied applied Physics at TU Delft and holds a PhD from that same university on the study of parallel computing for shallow water simulation. Together with a fellow PhD student, he founded VORtech, which he still leads. Next to his daytime job, he is chairman of the Innovation Committee of the Dutch Platform for Mathematics, which stimulates the use of mathematics in industry and society. As a part of his role as chairman he participates in ICIAM, the International Council on Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

🔸 Linn Leppert is Associate Professor of Computational Chemical Physics at the University of Twente. She holds a PhD in Physics from the University of Bayreuth, graduating summa cum laude, and completed her postdoctoral research at the University of California, Berkeley. Her research, recognized with awards including the Alexander-von-Humboldt fellowship and the NWO VIDI, focuses on developing and applying first-principles numerical modeling techniques to study excited electronic states of energy and functional materials.